With the changes in version 3.10 to users, their permissions and limits, Tracing Devil now should cover most of personal and business use cases.

width=1024

Full featured users

Admin – superuser that can do whatever he wants in Tracing Devil system.

User – ordinary user that can manipulate any of his own objects and add new ones.

Manager – user with extended capabilities allowing him to manage his users and add new ones.

Limited users

width=1024

Readonly user – user, who can add/edit/remove absolutely nothing, only see his objects. Useful feature for public/embedded use case.

width=1024

Device readonly user – ordinary user, who can not manipulate or add devices. Other objects can be edited without limits.

User limits

width=1024

Device limit – the limit for number of devices that user can have. User cannot add devices more than his Device limit

If Device limit equals -1 that means no limit.

If Device limit equals 0 that means user can not add devices, but can edit or remove existing ones.

User limit – the limit for number of users that manager can manage. User cannot add users more than his User limit.

If User limit equals -1 that means no limit.

If User limit equals 0 that means user cannot manage other users.

The difference between Manager and User in their User limit value. Manager has User limit not equal 0.

Only Admin can change these fields.

User created by Manager will have 0 value for both limits.

Newly registered user will have Device limit equal -1 or value from server config users.defaultDeviceLimit

width=1024

Expiration time – the time after which user cannot login.

Disabled – user cannot login if he is Disabled

User and Manager cannot edit these two fields in their own accounts.

Manager can edit these fields for the users he created, with one restriction. If Manager has Expiration time he can not set other users Expiration time later than his own.

Also one important restriction is that only Admin can unlink devices from himself.

Providing Tracing Devil as service use case

Service administrator creates one Manager for every client, set User limit and Device limit according to the subscription. For example, 5 users and 50 devices. Set Expiration time if needed.

Client Manager can add 5 users and 50 devices, link devices to users, create and link groups, geofences and everything else within specified limits.

Manager‘s Device limit will work for the whole client because client users can add new devices if only administrator explicitly allowed it.